Dinner Topics for Tuesday

Columbine Student’s Father Speaks

Read it and weep.

Did you hear anything about this in the media?

columbine-victimsGuess our national leaders didn’t expect this. Darrell Scott, the father of Rachel Scott, a victim of the Columbine High School shootings in Littleton, Colorado, was invited to address the House Judiciary Committee’s subcommittee. What he said to our national leaders during this special session of Congress was painfully truthful.

They were not prepared for what he was to say, nor was it received well. It needs to be heard by every parent, every teacher, every politician, every sociologist, every psychologist, and every so-called expert! These courageous words spoken by Darrell Scott are powerful, penetrating, and deeply personal. There is no doubt that God sent this man as a voice crying in the wilderness.. The following is a portion of the transcript:

“Since the dawn of creation there has been both good & evil in the hearts of men and women. We all contain the seeds of kindness or the seeds of violence. The death of my wonderful daughter, Rachel Joy Scott, and the deaths of that heroic teacher, and the other eleven children who died must not be in vain. Their blood cries out for answers.

“The first recorded act of violence was when Cain slew his brother Abel out in the field. The villain was not the club he used.. Neither was it the NCA, the National Club Association. The true killer was Cain, and the reason for the murder could only be found in Cain’s heart.

 

“In the days that followed the Columbine tragedy, I was amazed at how quickly fingers began to be pointed at groups such as the NRA. I am not a member of the NRA. I am not a hunter. I do not even own a gun. I am not here to represent or defend the NRA – because I don’t believe that they are responsible for my daughter’s death. Therefore I do not believe that they need to be defended. If I believed they had anything to do with Rachel’s murder I would be their strongest opponent

I am here today to declare that Columbine was not just a tragedy — it was a spiritual event that should be forcing us to look at where the real blame lies! Much of the blame lies here in this room. Much of the blame lies behind the pointing fingers of the accusers themselves. I wrote a poem just four nights ago that expresses my feelings best.

Your laws ignore our deepest needs,

Your words are empty air.

You’ve stripped away our heritage,

You’ve outlawed simple prayer.

Now gunshots fill our classrooms,

And precious children die.

You seek for answers everywhere,

And ask the question “Why?”

You regulate restrictive laws,

Through legislative creed.

And yet you fail to understand,

That God is what we need!

“Men and women are three-part beings. We all consist of body, mind, and spirit. When we refuse to acknowledge a third part of our make-up, we create a void that allows evil, prejudice, and hatred to rush in and wreak havoc. Spiritual presences were present within our educational systems for most of our nation’s history. Many of our major colleges began as theological seminaries. This is a historical fact. What has happened to us as a nation? We have refused to honor God, and in so doing, we open the doors to hatred and violence. And when something as terrible as Columbine’s tragedy occurs —politicians immediately look for a scapegoat such as the NRA. They immediately seek to pass more restrictive laws that contribute to erode away our personal and private liberties. We do not need more restrictive laws. Eric and Dylan would not have been stopped by metal detectors. No amount of gun laws can stop someone who spends months planning this type of massacre. The real villain lies within our own hearts.

“As my son Craig lay under that table in the school library and saw his two friends murdered before his very eyes, he did not hesitate to pray in school. I defy any law or politician to deny him that right! I challenge every young person in America , and around the world, to realize that on April 20, 1999, at Columbine High School prayer was brought back to our schools. Do not let the many prayers offered by those students be in vain.

Dare to move into the new millennium with a sacred disregard for legislation that violates your God-given right to communicate with Him. To those of you who would point your finger at the NRA — I give to you a sincere challenge.. Dare to examine your own heart before casting the first stone! My daughter’s death will not be in vain! The young people of this country will not allow that to happen!” – Darrell Scott

134 responses to “Columbine High School Shooting: 12 years later”

  1. niskotarifni poleti wizzair Avatar
    niskotarifni poleti wizzair

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs much more consideration. I’ll probably be again to read much more, thanks for that info.

  2. Buyer Leads Avatar
    Buyer Leads

    Admiring the commitment you put into your site and in depth information you offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  3. startup speaker Avatar
    startup speaker

    Keep up the awesome quality writing, it is rare to see a nice page like this one these days. After looking over a number of the website posts on your blog, I seriously like your way of blogging. I have added your page to my Pinterest bookmarks You have a number of nice points there. Interesting write up.

  4. technology adviser Avatar
    technology adviser

    Thanks for the advice! I have learned new things through your blog. I bet you do crossword puzzles in ink.

  5. cannabis app Avatar
    cannabis app

    Well written! I was riding my bike on Thursday when I discovered your blog.

  6. Jesse Grillo Avatar
    Jesse Grillo

    I have added your article to my Google Plus I just stumbled upon your post. I discovered your write ups via Reddit while searching for a related topic, your blog came up and I am so glad it did I could not refrain from commenting!

  7. ducted heating Avatar
    ducted heating

    Great Post! I agree completely with you here. It is a very valuable and useful collection of blogs. I am trying to gain information from all these. Really helpful. Thank you..!!

  8. Jesus Noa Avatar
    Jesus Noa

    I like Your Article about Catholic Priests and Former Abortionist Confront Congress on Meaning of “Abortion” | Fr. Frank Pavone’s Blog Perfect just what I was searching for! .

  9. Luanna Cornelison Avatar
    Luanna Cornelison

    I do not even understand how I stopped up here, however I thought this submit was once good. I do not realize who you’re but certainly you are going to a well-known blogger for those who aren’t already Cheers!

  10. Sharice Fetter Avatar
    Sharice Fetter

    Thanks a ton for your time to have decided to put these things together on this website. Janet and I very much treasured your suggestions through your blog on certain things. I understand that you have a number of demands on program and so the fact that an individual like you took just as much time like you did to help viewers just like us via this blog is even extremely loved.

  11. Pablo Mcteer Avatar
    Pablo Mcteer

    Simply desire to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your post is just nice and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

  12. Nicole Luciano Avatar
    Nicole Luciano

    Your understanding really fills a need. I’ve been trying to track down this sort of article and you seriously came through. Can you believe that what you wrote pretty much exactly replicates my very own experience.

  13. Enrique Naeve Avatar
    Enrique Naeve

    Thanks for another informative web site. Where else could I get that kind of information written in such an ideal way? I’ve a project that I’m just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

  14. Roseanna Atwood Avatar
    Roseanna Atwood

    Thanks for the careful analysis. Regardless of her gross negligence and the fact that the applicable laws specifically criminalize it, the current media spin is “this is old news, she was fully exonerated, move on to the coronation.”LikeLike

  15. Mari Kamrowski Avatar
    Mari Kamrowski

    Well one good read. Learnt a lot.LikeLike

  16. Nedra Millican Avatar
    Nedra Millican

    Needed to put you a bit of remark to help thank you very much as before over the beautiful methods you have featured on this page. It is simply generous of people like you in giving easily all most people would have made available as an e-book to make some profit on their own, particularly considering that you might have done it in case you considered necessary. These guidelines likewise worked like the good way to be sure that other people have similar dreams the same as mine to figure out great deal more on the topic of this problem. I think there are thousands of more pleasurable instances in the future for those who examine your blog.

  17. имоти за продажба в бургас Avatar
    имоти за продажба в бургас

    You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!

  18. HIMS Avatar
    HIMS

    An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you become expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!

  19. Tandra Arosemena Avatar
    Tandra Arosemena

    You are a very capable person!

  20. HIMS DOHA Avatar
    HIMS DOHA

    It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  21. Kelsi Weltch Avatar
    Kelsi Weltch

    Love the website– very user-friendly and lots to see!

  22. Shante Bruch Avatar
    Shante Bruch

    Some genuinely nice stuff on this internet site, I love it.

  23. полети до виена Avatar
    полети до виена

    Your place is valueble for me. Thanks!…

  24. VelvaLGong Avatar
    VelvaLGong

    great points altogether, you just won a whole new
    reader. What could you recommend about your post that you made
    a number of days ago? Any sure?

  25. Jacinto Mcbrayer Avatar
    Jacinto Mcbrayer

    I view something genuinely interesting about your web site so I saved to my bookmarks .

  26. Daryl Hince Avatar
    Daryl Hince

    Helpful info. Fortunate me I discovered your site unintentionally, and I’m stunned why this coincidence did not came about in advance! I bookmarked it.

  27. Lavone Khaleel Avatar
    Lavone Khaleel

    It?s actually a nice and helpful piece of info. I am satisfied that you shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  28. продавам апартамент в софия без посредник Avatar
    продавам апартамент в софия без посредник

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  29. Freddy Bonano Avatar
    Freddy Bonano

    Thanks for sharing excellent informations. Your website is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you’ve on this web site. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for more articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the information I already searched all over the place and just could not come across. What an ideal web-site.

  30. Barney Ardeneaux Avatar
    Barney Ardeneaux

    Great write-up, I¡¦m regular visitor of one¡¦s blog, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

  31. Jill Holzmiller Avatar
    Jill Holzmiller

    Great looking website. Presume you did a lot of your very own coding.|

  32. Bernard Zibell Avatar
    Bernard Zibell

    I have learn several good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much effort you place to create this kind of fantastic informative website.

  33. Brian Awyie Avatar
    Brian Awyie

    Dead on subject matter, Really enjoyed reading through.

  34. Ellis Unck Avatar
    Ellis Unck

    I truly wanted to post a word to be able to thank you for all of the fabulous guides you are writing at this website. My time intensive internet investigation has now been compensated with good quality details to share with my partners. I would declare that many of us website visitors are rather fortunate to live in a wonderful website with many special individuals with helpful concepts. I feel very fortunate to have used your entire web site and look forward to some more enjoyable minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once more for a lot of things.