Dinner Talk Topics, a Family Tradition

 Dinner Topics for Monday

 

Dinner Talk—The Universal Parable

“All happenings great and small are parables whereby God speaks. The art of life is to get the message. ~Malcolm Muggeridge

dinnerConversation as a teaching modality in families has presided at mealtime for generations. Until now. In today’s stressful society, everyone is seeking comfort. Here we are, surrounded by plush furnishings, super-abundance of delicious food, the latest electronic marvels, fancy cars, costly apparel, and every need met at the touch of a button. Still, something is missing.

What lack we yet? I draw comfort from our family dinner talks decades ago. And from reading out of the best books— classics, and scriptures. We talked about politics, history, religion, science, literature, the arts. Perhaps there would be a Beethoven sonata playing on the phonograph. It was the most well-rounded education a person could receive.

But the most precious part of those teaching moments is not expressed in words. There was never any question whether we would show up for dinner. Presence at the family dinner hour was a given— something almost sacred. I never had to worry if Mom and Dad would be there. And when it came to right and wrong, I always knew where they stood.  That foundation gave me something solid to hang onto as I struggled through the years to maturity.  It gave me a legacy to pass on to my children. But is it enough?  For many, deep down, an unnamed hunger remains.

At the Meridian of time, people followed Jesus everywhere, irresistibly drawn to His message. Whether they were few or many, each walked away with that portion of the bread of life that fed his own soul, having connected at last with his divine heritage.

Feeding5000How did the Savior do it? With Parables. He broke bread with His friends. He fed them, taught them parables, and changed their lives. We call this “Dinner Talk.”

Dinner Talk Topics

  1. Why would something as simple as family meals have such an impact?
  2. Why is it important to have family meals every day?
  3. What can we learn from the Savior’s example?
  4. How can this simple tradition bless people of all faiths?
  5. List specific ways that you will improve relationships in your family.

Join the Conversation! Visit the Zion Culture Center; Add a little “manna” to your dinner hour.

Copyright © 2010 by C.A. Davidson


46 comments on “Dinner Talk Topics, a Family Tradition

  1. Terrific work! This is the kind of information that are supposed to be shared around the net. Disgrace on the search engines for now not positioning this put up upper! Come on over and consult with my website . Thank you =)

  2. Very interesting subject, thankyou for putting up. “Nobody outside of a baby carriage or a judge’s chamber believes in an unprejudiced point of view.” by Lillian Hellman.

  3. Very good post.Thanx with regard to writing this kind of insightful posting in addition to informative us with the feelings.I am hoping you will definitely proceed this kind of great work at a later date also.

  4. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this website.

    I am hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts from
    you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing
    abilities has encouraged me to get my own website now 😉

  5. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.

    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite certain I will learn lots of new stuff right here!

    Best of luck for the next!

  6. You’re so awesome! I do not believe I have read through a
    single thing like that before. So wonderful to find another person with a few
    unique thoughts on this issue. Really.. many thanks
    for starting this up. This website is something that’s
    needed on the internet, someone with a little originality!

  7. Aw, this was a really good post. Taking the time and actual effort to generate a top notch article but what can I say I put things off a lot and never seem to get anything done.

  8. Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform
    you’re working with? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  9. First of all I would like to say fantastic blog!
    I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to find out how you center yourself
    and clear your mind prior to writing. I’ve had trouble
    clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.
    I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any suggestions or tips? Kudos!

  10. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding
    more. Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  11. I have been surfing online greater than three hours nowadays, but I by no means discovered any interesting article
    like yours. It is beautiful value sufficient for me.
    In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content as you probably did, the internet will
    probably be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  12. Hey fantastic blog! Does running a blog such as this take a lot of work?
    I have virtually no expertise in programming but I had
    been hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyhow, should you have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject nevertheless I simply
    had to ask. Thanks!

  13. Great weblog here! Additionally your site quite a bit up very fast! What host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate link in your host? I wish my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  14. Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Christian Dinner Topics | Epicworld Dinner Topics .

  15. Super-Duper blog! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also.

  16. Really love the writing you’ve shown the people. I have added your blog to my bookmarks. Looking forward to your next post. Web Watcher if you wanna check out my site.

  17. I just like the priceless data you offer you on your reports.I’ll bookmark your site and look at once again below continually.I’m really definitely sure I will study a lot of latest things best suited listed here! Fine luck for your future!

  18. I like the invaluable information you furnish in your own articles or blog posts.I will bookmark your site and investigate again listed here usually.I am extremely positive I will gain knowledge of loads of recent stuff perfect listed here! Fine luck with the subsequent!

  19. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday. It will always be interesting to read through content from other writers and practice something from their websites.

  20. I simply want to mention I am all new to blogs and really savored this blog. Likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You certainly come with incredible well written articles. Many thanks for revealing your blog site.

  21. I just want to say I am all new to weblog and actually enjoyed this web-site. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You amazingly have outstanding well written articles. Thanks for sharing your web page.

  22. I just want to tell you that I’m newbie to blogging and definitely savored you’re website. Likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You amazingly have awesome posts. Many thanks for sharing with us your web-site.

  23. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful blog. A great read. I will certainly be back. Posted by 1daycarinsurance.ws.

Leave a Comment

